Care to Share?

I heard this on the radio today.

“Come to Me for rest and refreshment. The journey has been too much for you, and you are bone-weary. Do not be ashamed of your exhaustion. Instead, see it as an opportunity for Me to take charge of your life.”

I did not catch the reference, so I Googled “do not be ashamed of your exhaustion” and found additions to the quote in Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace in His Presence,” by Sarah Young.

Remember that I can fit everything into a pattern for good, including the things you wish were different. Start with where you are at this point in time and space, accepting that this is where I intend you to be. You will get through today one step, one moment, at a time. Your main responsibility is to remain attentive to Me, letting Me guide you through the many choices along your pathway.
This sounds like an easy assignment, but it is not. Your desire to live in My Presence goes against the grain of “this world, the flesh, and the devil.” Much of your weariness results from your constant battle against those opponents. However, you are on the path of My choosing, so do not give up! Hope in Me, for you will again praise Me for the help of My Presence.”

scripture references: Romans 8:28; Psalm 42:11

Clearly, the message is for those who are carrying on God’s work to proclaim His message to all nations. I admit, I have not been as steadfast zealous in sharing my faith verbally with others, opting instead to wait on the Lord that someone will make me account for all the hope that is in me. Safe, eh? I’ve rationalized that my hesitation in aggressively sharing about my faith comes from not wanting any trouble at school, which is non-sectarian. I’ve gotten into the comfortable habit of just fellowshipping with another believer during lunch break and avoiding actively discussing it with my other co-teachers.

Fortunately, the Holy Spirit has once again stepped in to shine a light on this area in my life which needs readjustment. My church is taking a break from our study on Mark and concentrating on a 3-week series about evangelism! After the sermon in week #2, we had to find someone we didn’t know and practice sharing a little bit about who we are and a little bit of what we believe in, in 90 seconds. This exercise proved that if you don’t practice, then you wouldn’t be confident, not knowing what to say. I appreciated that my partner acted all aloof and just stood there while I stammered. (Great practice for the real world!) And though I couldn’t redeem my feeble attempt at evangelizing, it was a start. The seeds are there. Pray for us when we do some more practice this Sunday in the Federal Way area.

Care to share?

3 thoughts on “Care to Share?

  1. Hi Frannie! I am so glad to read of your desire to evangelize! Really? You had your first witnessing encounter? Mine was funny. Instead of me evangelizing, I ended up being witnessed to. Harhar. Oh, it would be so great if you could come and join us on at the Kent Station on Fridays or Saturdays. It does help if I have someone I am close to. Oh please, oh please? If you want, we can be partners. I can do the talking until you think you are ready by yourself. That is what happened with me. I just listened all the time until I thought I was ready. Or for starters, maybe you can just hand out tracts. We have a site that has really good witnessing resources. Do check it out: http://www.adventuresinchristianity.com/KentStationOutreach

    Oh, please, please, please…. come with me. And then we can have dinner at Zao or at place not too fancy since we are “saving” people. Saving as in “nagtitipid.”

    Hope to see you soon at Kent Station!

    God bless!

  2. I can’t wait for you to join us in June! Now there’ll be one more thing to look forward to in witnessing at Kent Station…. 🙂 Blessing to you, Frannie!

Leave a Reply

