Composting via Direct Soil Incorporation for Good Soil

My Gulay Girl blog has been invaded by something! I’m transferring most of the posts from there to this blog, making updates and comments, then retiring the original blog completely.  Here’s one of my first posts in 2010:

I am really excited to start organic gardening!

We have always had our garden in Alabang, but I never took an interest in it until I started to go hardcore vegetarian, which was 2008. I was vegan, living in Medina, WA, and I had a housemate and landlady who was into organic composting. She was into green smoothies and making salads, all with ingredients from her garden, while I made most of mine from produce from the grocery. (I wasn’t even into smoothies then!) Then a few other friends in the Seattle area showed me lovely, pesticide-free produce from their backyard vegetable gardens. Colleagues and clients at work who were into organic products and farmer’s markets as well, gave me a lot of good advice.

But it was only recently that I discovered  how enjoyable it is to feel the soil in my hands, being out with Vaughn (our half Belgian-mastiff, half-Doberman), watching him eat mangoes and macopa (yes, he loves fruit!).

Vaughn died mid-2013   😦

Vaughn, Gulay Girl, Metanoia

Right now there are parts of the garden that need to be rehabilitated because of some soil problems. It has become a bit rocky and sandy. For those parts, I’ve begun direct soil incorporation organic composting.

In this blog, I’ll posting about how I am getting my garden started, the bugs (literal and figurative!) along the way, troubleshooting, updates on the soil rehab project, and just the sheer enjoyment of  being outdoors in 90-degree weather all year round!

See ya around 🙂

So obviously, “this blog” meant the Gulay Girl blog, which I will be retiring soon.

I am also no longer vegan. I still eat a mostly-raw diet, not 100% anymore like when I first started in 2010.

Reblogging this post reminded me of a conversation I had with a  friend  going through a bible study series on Growing in our Relationship with Christ. Mark 4:20′s description of healthy soil made an impression on her.

I won’t discuss her take on it as I will respect our confidentiality clause, but I told her that from my experience, the healthy soil that resulted from organic gardening did not only cause my plants to grow healthier, literally bearing fruit, but it attracted new animals to the garden as well. This made me recall meeting Sharron Reece in 2005, and her authenticity as a follower of Christ made me seek out her God.  You could definitely say I was one of those who benefitted from the fruit produced in her life.

Leave a Reply

